Lesson’s from Fashion’s Free Culture @Mojojohanna #TedTalks

While preparing for a Media, Culture, and Society seminar on the exciting topic of “Fashion, Comportment, and Consumerism”, I did what any grad student would do when faced with a seminar topic. I turned to Ted.

I found an interesting talk from Johanna Blakley, my newest academic crush, who just so happens to teach at my dream school: University of Southern California. I’ve been thinking about this talk in conjunction with my seminar material and one of the questions I’m going to ask tomorrow in my seminar (and will put out to the WordPress world right now) is: Does the “democratization of fashion” (i.e. knock-offs) make fashion more or less powerful?

I’ve been thinking about this question for a couple weeks now and I’m looking forward to getting some feedback from the brilliant minds in my Media, Culture, and Society class (or one of my 17 blog followers… I know, I’m kind of a big deal here in the WordPress World!)

BONUS: I also really like how Blakley frames her question by extrapolating the issues of fashion to comedy. It made me think about it in a different way so I’m also going to put out to my class (and you) as a follow-up: With the copyright-less comedians, how does that impact consumption in the comedic industry?

Leave a Reply

